Back a bit, back a bit…

2007 was an ‘interesting’ year for me. I left my job, my home and my Edinburgh friends and moved down to London. Not content with one upheavel I then left my job, my home and my new friends in London. And all by September – so all in all quite a busy 9 months!

I have never been someone with a burning desire to live in the big smoke however my time with my wee charity in Edinburgh had come to a natural end and an opportunity was offered to me which was just too good to pass up on.

Great job, great prospects – only snag, it was in London. Now I believe life is too short for ‘what if’s’ and if I hadn’t have taken the opportunity being offered to me I genuinely believe this would have been an ‘what if’ for eternity so I said thank you very much, grabbed the opportunity on offer and moved from the Scottish capital to the English one.

Even with everything which has happened subsequently, to this day I do not regret one single bit my decision. I learned a lot about myself and the people I surround myself with (it also meant I could satisfy my long standing burning desire to live on a houseboat!). However…I also learned that London is definitely not for me!

The decision to leave London life actually came as a bit of an epiphany. You know the feeling when a decision has to be made and soon -and actually deep down you know what the answer is.

I knew I was unhappy in London and I knew I was unhappy in my job. I also knew I had only been in my new job and new city for 9 months, not a long time in the grand scheme of things.

But I also knew I lived life following my heart “sigue tu corozon” and I knew I wasn’t listening to my heart. I could almost hear the poor thing screaming at me!

I needed inspiration. So I took a holiday with a beautiful person to a beautiful place. It worked – hurrah!

I was inspired and after a week camping, kayaking and climbing on the Scottish western isles I walked into my office on the Monday morning clutching my letter of resignation, took a deep breath and handed it over!

With that one single nervewracking action the world became one big unknown oyster!

Want to know what happens next…? The read on my friend…!

Leave a Reply

