Sierra Tango, over & out

2 new things to report…I can now fit and successfully use a high frequency radio…I can also dismantle, change and re assemble a brake disc protector plate on a TD5 Landrover – without the wheel subsequently falling off during its first test drive out the garage

(until a few days ago that bit about brake discs, TD5’s etc wuld have made no sense to me either for those of you reading this and feeling a little lost!).

I was also allowed – in fact encouraged –  to drive a rather large clunky truck they use to ferry all the workers around in. I was being ‘supervised’ by a reluctant Cambodian who not surprisingly sweated profously throughout the entire experience!

He told me I was a ‘strong lady’ however I fear a little was lost in translation  and what he actually meant was “if you don’t mind lady, can you please attempt to FIND rather than grind the gears of my precious vehicle”.

Taking a test tomorrow – name and describe the inner workings of 20 landmines…I am scared! I know I know them (kind of) but never one to perform particularly well under test conditions (unlike big sister Saz) I will unfailingly stutter and splutter my way through this.

p.s I am acutely aware words without photos can be an extremely dull experience however i am experiencing some fairly significant ‘technical problems’ at the moment uploading pictures. I promise to fix this as soon as Bill Gates gets back to me.

3 Comments

  1. Jo said,

    June 6, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    I regularly fail to find the gears in my golf – grinding is good!!

    All sounds a bit mental to me, but absolutely you!! Good luck with the test. Not much to report back here xx

  2. M said,

    June 9, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    Hello My Love!!
    I cannot beleive the fact that you are changing parts of a car and they are not falling apart!!
    Good on you girl!!
    I know that after 2 miniutes in my hands, I would have cut myself, broken some major part or just cried!!!
    Glad to hear things are going well, you sound like you are in your element, and I am so so pleased for you!!!
    Things with me are good, had a wedding this weekend, one of Stu’s friends, all the boys were remarkably pissed while the girls were sober!! How did that happen!!
    Sis is doing well only 1 chemo left to go…. will keep you updated I promsie..
    Missing you so so much!! But the Harpers Bazaar keeps you in my mind and in my Jimmy Choos each month!!
    M xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  3. workshire said,

    June 12, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    Awesome stuff Kensington! I’m glad i can still see what youre up to even though you refuse to get facebook! I’m going to be in europe in august. I’m sure you’ll be off adventuring somewhere, but if you ever get to the UK in august or september let me know!


Leave a Reply

