Bob Dylan at church

This is just a quicky but quite amusing…I decided to venture to the Catholic church closest to my house on Sunday. It’s always quite an interesting experience going to church in countries where religion plays such a huge part of life.

It was a fairly musical affair (even by reserved Catholic standards), lots of african drums and clapping of hands but the best part was one of the ‘hymns’…after a few bars I recognised the tune…a rather unique cover of Bob Dylan’s Blowin’ in the Wind!! I kid you not!! Not your usual church hymn shall we say!!

I quietly sang along – the original English version of course smiling to myself!!

1 Comment

  1. James Scott said,

    November 11, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    The Catalans got there first, I think.

    Summer 1973, Tarragona… IN the hymnal, a hymn called “Aquell vaixell” which even as a non Catalan speaker (then) I recognised to be “When the ship comes in”:

    Cordialment,

    Jim Scott


Leave a Reply

