Muito confusao and the Salmon Shack

I’ve heard moving house is apparently the 2nd (?) most stressful experience of your life.

 

Luckily for me the sum total of my current worldly possessions can fit into 2 cardboard boxes and a coolbox!

 

So today as I moved into my new house – christened the ‘Salmon Shack’ – I didn’t feel very stressed at all!

 

It was however a slightly convoluted operation – something I am quickly learning is pretty much the norm in Mozambique! My boxes were loaded into a trailer by about 10 of our staff (or I should say – 3 doing the loading and the rest discussing, supervising, pondering and generally just hanging around trying to look busy!) and hitched to the back of a landrover.

 

An inexplicable 5 hours behind schedule I waved my belongings out of the Maputo compound gates as they were driven off by my logistician on the 2 day road trip up to the ‘shack’.

 

In the meantime I boarded a flight to Beira, a city about 1000km north of Maputo, and headed to the office of another demining organisation who were kindly loaning us a car space worth of their compound for my lovely landrover ‘red wing’ which we’d left there 2 weeks ago (another occasion of Moz ‘convolution’!).

 

I then drove red wing the 3 hour journey to meet up with aforementioned logistician and trailer of belongings at the Shack.

 

And for all the ‘muito confusao’ experienced throughout the entire operation, all 3 of us…me, logistician and trailer (with belongings in tact) safely made it!

 

ht-on-steps-of-salmon-shack-blog

 

P.S…. ‘’muito confusao’’…I should probably explain this term…I use it ALOT in Mozambique!

 

Literally translated it means ‘much confusion’ but it can be easily applied and is frequently used in far too many situations to list here!

 

It basically means anything from someone not understanding what you are saying to them right through to an utterly mayhem and catastrophe fuelled disaster.

 

I doesn’t surprise me in the least that ‘‘muito confusao’’ is probably one of the most utilised phrases in the entire Portuguese language in Moz….normally swiftly followed by ‘‘epaa’’ which pretty much means “oh s**t”!

 

Leave a Reply

