Pesky parasites

So I’ve been a little incommunicado recently…I have good reason!

Having left South Africa full of the joys of soon to be seeing the family plus absolutely convinced that now I had cracked sandboarding that snowboarding would be a breeze (!), I arrived in France feeling rough.

The next day I felt even more rough and the next day I announced I was officially dying. Something was wrong.

So without having even stepped foot inside the ski hire shop I headed back off the mountain and down to the doctors.

4 hours later this was to be my home for my weeks skiing holiday…

pict0178

I was admitted into Grenoble hospital with a pretty rough case of malaria. I’m not sure they get many cases of malaria 1000m up in the french mountains!

Apparently the family had a jolly nice holiday skiing and I met them at the airport to fly home without so much as even dipping my toe in the snowy waters of Oz en Oisans finest blues and reds!

I remember once half-joking with a fellow aid worker that you’re not a proper aid worker until you’ve had malaria…apparently I need to be more careful what I say!

2 Comments

  1. Rima said,

    March 13, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    Babes – sorry to hear you got hit with malaria.
    Take care and big polar hugs :o)

  2. Saz said,

    March 15, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Snow was rubbish anyway sis (well not really, just trying to make you feel better!)
    Glad you are well again, we were worried about you. Maybe next year?!?!?
    xxxx


Leave a Reply

