Always be bothered…

Minesign & locals

After another tough week at work and a night out with the Programme Manager of one of the big international aid agencies, my admiration for aid workers with many more years under their belt than I remains undeterred.

It does make me wonder though just how they keep their perpetual composure, passion and most importantly their sanity! 

Without a doubt, my technique is to always be bothered…’

I’m not talking about being bothered on any grand scale…it’s small things which help me keep my sanity. Small things which I know once I’ve done them I will be glad I’ve done them – even though at the time it’s all too easy to think I’m too busy / tired etc. etc. etc. 

So even when I’m in a rush to meet a report deadline, I will always be bothered to make a proper cup of coffee to sip on while I work.

Even when I have ‘to do’ list as long as my arm, I will always be bothered to take 2 minutes to listen to what one of my staff is slowly trying to explain to me.

Even when I am living out in the field for days on end, I will always be bothered to stick on a nice necklace or bracelet to remind myself that there is still a female underneath all this combat and t-shirt field-uniform!!

Even when I get home late from work and want to just shower and sleep, I will always be bothered to do something ‘none-work’ even if just for 20 minutes – read a couple of chapters of a book or cook a quick bite to eat.

Two stories in the media this week showed me just how it can make a difference by always being bothered.

Keep on plodding!

Humanitarian Award

Good motivators for me if I’m having one of  those “oh I really just can’t be bothered to…….”

4 Comments

  1. CHW said,

    May 28, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Hello, Helen.

    I’m a first-timer with your blog. In review of several of your posts, I decided to post a comment on the most recent hoping to open a dialogue with you. I am relocating to Maputo to assume a Country Director position with an NGO. Your insights would prove valuable, if you wouldn’t mind dialoguing.

    I travel to the country for an initial review in mid-June.

    Thank you for your blog and for your time.

    Craig

  2. Tyre Lady said,

    May 28, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    Yeah – apathy is deadly!!! Just caught up with what you’re doing. Yes and its great to be a woman!!!! :o) My friends also summitted Everest the same time as Ranulph. A smile a day keeps the grumpies away :o)

  3. June 7, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    […] travel, walking After singing the praises of Sir Ranulph Fiennes in one of my previous blogs (Keep on plodding) I heard from a friend that an expedition of her fellow country women had summitted on the same day […]

  4. November 9, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    […] Pluck eyebrows in doorway of tent much to the bemusement of male Moz colleagues (remember Always be bothered? this is classic […]


Leave a Reply

