Goat testicles for breakfast

I absolutely kid you not…

We bought a goat today to spit roast for dinner. The province we are in is absolutely THE place in Moz for goat. They are everywhere. So it only seemed right – when in Rome….

I opened my tent at 7am this morning to see a man squeezing undigested food gunk out of the goats stomach. Next I saw the goat’s head waiting to be spiked and roasted (roasted goat brain is very tasty I’m told!). A plate was then proffered in my direction with what looked like little bits of chicken…

Not chicken I was told…goat testicle. I refused then clocked myself and thought if it’s good enough for my guys then its good enough for me, stop being such a wimpy foreigner (and a female foreigner at that!) so accepted the piece being offered to me and swallowed it whole.

Never let it be said that I don’t ‘go native’ when the opportunity arises!!

And the taste of goat testicle….let me just say this…DOESN’T taste like chicken…

DSCN2068

If you look to the bottom of the picture next to the foot of the guy holding the goat’s head you can see the hairy ‘outers’ of my testicle breakfast!

3 Comments

  1. mum said,

    October 12, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    Can’t believe you actually ate that!! When is the audition for’I’m a charity worker…get me out of here?’ One thing for sure, my cooking will taste wonderful after that.
    Stick to vegetables.
    xxmum

  2. Joan neil said,

    October 12, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    well helen that takes the biscuit , every time I see you now I will be imagining you chewing on furry bits , yuk. Well next time you come to ours for dinner I will have to find you a goat , bull, sheep, , is there nothing you wont try ,maybe just beans on toast . xxx joan

  3. aunty Betty said,

    October 15, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    all I can say is YUK.


Leave a Reply

