International Women’s Day

Today is the 100th Anniversary of International Women’s Day

Ma…’3 kids under the age of five‘ I think has been uttered on more than one ocassion round the dinner table (even if your abandonment of two of those three in John Lewis did result in a life long fear of lifts). An impressive feat nonetheless and I think you’ve turned us out ok, don’t you?

Sisters…happily married, successful careers, places to call home and beautiful babies (or baby-on-the-way). Need I say more!

Ankles…your own boss! You have worked hard to get there, you deserve all the success you are achieving.

Girlfriends…if the future of the human race was left up to me we would be en route to extinction. Your bravery (and love of rugrats) is keeping us on track.

Aunty Mo – the coolest nun going and a fantastic advice giver.

Ladies – you, amongst many other women in my life, are all an inspiration to me!

Happy International Women’s Day!

As for me…I have been on the move yet again and have arrived for Women’s Day in Luanda, the Angolan capital. As it is happily coinciding with Angolan Carnival the town is alive with music, masked children and lots of dancing on the streets.

After hours and hours in a hot dusty landrover we arrived at the office accommodation to find a filthy bathroom, most lightbulbs missing and not a drop of water to qunch our parched mouths! So I am spending Women’s Day scrubbing the bathroom before I can have a shower….well you know what they say “A woman’s work is never done”!

5 Comments

  1. louise evans said,

    March 8, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    oh Helen, how can you say all that when you are the bravest of us all.x

    • misshelen said,

      March 9, 2011 at 6:14 am

      Oh I love a good bit of mutual respect ladies. Girl power!

  2. Mum said,

    March 8, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    Thanks for the comments, my favourite middle daughter. Don’t underestimate your own contribution to to the future of mankind (or womenkind).
    ps. hope you cleaned that bathroom properly.

  3. Mark Sweatman said,

    March 12, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    Hey Helen,

    Love reading your blog and keeping up with your adventures. Next time you’re home, my sister would love to talk to you about going into Upton and giving a bit of a talk to the girls about your work. She has been working to establish educational links in Africa, and she thinks the girls would be fascinated to hear from you. Hope you’re keeping well.

    Mark.xxx

    • misshelen said,

      March 12, 2011 at 3:06 pm

      Hi Mark, thanks for the comments. I would be delighted to speak at Upton next time I’m home. Although not sure I want to be responsible for encouraging the girls to go for a career in clearing landmines…I might have a few angry parents! I can help at all with Africa contacts just let me know.


Leave a Reply

