The most dangerous landmine in the world?

I have never taken the work of my deminers for granted. Having done the job myself – albeit briefly – their painstaking dangerous work is something to be held in the highest regard.

Now though, having arrived in Angola, my admiration has reached new levels.

This is a PPMiSr….a nasty anti personnel mine made in Czechoslovakia:

Close up PpMiSr hidden by leaves, you can just see the  metal lid of the mine.

With small pieces of metal sandwiched in between the inner and outer walls of the main body, when someone stands on the spike at the top of the mine it has a device which ejects it into the air and after a couple of seconds it explodes. As it explodes the metal pieces fly out.

Can you spot the spikey top of the mine? Being unable to spot them is what makes these landmines so dangerous to the local population who enter the area to cut wood or graze their cattle.

Closer up it’s a little easier to spot but still fairly hidden in the vegetation waiting for an unsuspecting victim.

In fact these mines are so dangerous that should one explode in the vicinity of someone it is essential that my guys wear specially designed PpMiSr protective body armour.

My hardy deminers hate it because it’s much more bulky and cumbersome than their usual protection, added to this these minefields are in one of the most baking hot and humid provinces.

My guys are working on minefields right now where we are finding these mines.

 

3 Comments

  1. Jacob Bye said,

    November 14, 2013 at 9:32 am

    Could you contact me Miss Helen?

    BR / Jacob Bye

    • misshelen said,

      November 15, 2013 at 5:47 am

      How can I help?

      • Jacob Bye said,

        November 15, 2013 at 7:56 am

        Could you please send me an email directly – I have a question related to one of your pictures.

        You can use jabbj@flsmidth.com or my linkedIN profile: Jacob Bye.

        BR / Jacob


Leave a Reply

